• Home
  • Cherry Picked - Nine students honored at Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival

Nine students honored at Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

LAWRENCE — Nine University of Kansas student designers earned marks of distinction at the recent Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF) for Region V. The following students enrolled in the Department of Theatre have earned awards:

National first place:
Robert Crone, senior from Emporia: costume design for "Rhinoceros"

Kayleigh Shaffer, sophomore from Olathe: sound design for "Metamorphoses"

National honorable mentions
Liz Mitts, senior from Lawrence: lighting design for "She Kills Monsters"

Charlotte Nodarse, senior from Leawood: sound design for "Anon(ymous)"

Lexey Jost, MFA student from Hutchinson: costume design for ". . . and Jesus Moonwalks the Mississippi"

Regional first place:
Harlan Shoemaker, junior from Tonganoxie: makeup design for special effects project

Stagecraft Institute of Las Vegas Awards:

Nodarse: sound design for "Anon(ymous)"

Colin Neukirch, senior from Topeka: lighting design for "Metamorphoses"

Chelsea Pitts, MFA student from Topeka: costume design for "She Kills Monsters"

Many of the designers entered their actualized designs from the University Theatre’s season, and some produced award-winning work from in-class assignments.

The national first-place award winners will compete at the National Conference in Washington D.C., held in April. Nodarse, Neukirch and Pitts will take part in intensive theatre studies at The Stagecraft Institute tuition-free as part of their award.

The KCACTF Region V annual conference and awards took place Jan. 21-27 in Des Moines, Iowa. Region V includes Kansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota. At various times during 2017, representatives of KCACTF came to Lawrence to judge the submitted plays and provide critiques.

To see a complete list of Region V winners, visit https://www.kcactf5.org/blog/festival-50-awards-recap

The Department of Theatre is one of four departments in the School of the Arts. As part of the KU College of Liberal Arts & Sciences, the School of the Arts offers fresh possibilities for collaboration between the arts and the humanities, sciences, social sciences, international & interdisciplinary studies.

For more information on the Department of Theatre, visit theatre.ku.edu. For more information on the University Theatre, visit KUTheatre.com. Follow KU Theatre on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.